Power to the (Facebook) Pixel

The latest part of my current Highbrow course was about using Facebook Insights to track website traffic – essentially non-Facebook stuff, which was definitely something I wanted to write a bit more on.
I’ve used Facebook Pixels before to track return on investment for Facebook ads, but I hadn’t thought seriously about it’s use in tracking the demographics on standard website traffic and leads – I was sort of aware that this worked, but hadn’t considered the possibilities before.

While Google Analytics (the usual go-to for web stats) can give you a great deal of knowledge about your visitors, it has nothing on Facebook Insights, because Facebook was designed from the ground up to gather everything about an individual person. Plus, for those people it doesn’t have specific info on, it can extrapolate and profile based on the data it does have. (Basically, all those people who tell me ‘Oh, Facebook doesn’t know anything about me, I never told it my age/birthday/gender!’ And think they’ve been very clever – nope, I’m sorry, Facebook knows who you are.)

Once you’ve hit 1000 website views, Facebook Insights can start giving you way more info on the demographic of your website users than you’d likely be able to get otherwise. 

Leave a Reply

