Quick Blog: Learning Updates

I haven’t done any Future Learn courses for a while, but I’ve decided to try and kick start some learning in other areas.

I’ve continued to work on my French via Duolingo, and it’s a slow process but I’m able to make it part of my morning commute. The XP system in Duolingo is a great example of Gamification, as I’ve got a daily goal to hit and I’m mostly managing it.

After originally not getting into Highbrow, I’ve decided to give it another try, and I’ve realised that the problem last time was probably the course content. I’ve started something very different – a email course that sends you and explains a short new business case study every day. The case studies come from University courses, and while they’re too short for it to feel worthwhile writing a blog on it right now, I definitely feel that I’m picking up ideas from them. Once I’ve done the whole course, I might write a post reflecting on it.

So the next thing I’m looking at is Hootsuite Academy. These seem like much more involved courses, but they’ll probably be much more valuable to me career-wise in the long run. It seems like there are online quizzes/exams at the end of each course, but unlike FutureLearn, they can be started and finished at any time, so while I’ll be making sure to put sure time aside for it on the regular basis, I can also take my time to really get in depth with the course materials. I’m printing out the first pdf. of questions as I write, and I’ll see how this goes.