Quick Blaugust 18 – Learning about Domain Authority

So, I was scanning Twitter today in search of a good quick topic to write about, and via various interesting possible discussions, (including this article on Bonjour Blogger about Instagram banning hashtags it deems harmful to it’s users, which would have been great but I wrote about Instagram two days ago, so I’ll save it for later) I happened on this post and subsequently this post about a blogger effectively blackmailing a business in London that she felt had slighted her, by openly disparaging them on social media. Another possible good topic, but while I was reading, some of the blogger jargon in that second article (the one from Six out of Ten) intrigued me. What is a Domain Authority score, and is it something I ought to have known about?

So I did a quick bit of googling, and found it was related to that terrifying phrase which sometimes I think I pretend to understand rather than actually understand: Search Engine Optimisation.

To quote Moz, the company that developed it,

Domain Authority is a score (on a 100-point scale) developed by Moz that predicts how well a website will rank on search engines.

(That link above is worth following just for the painfully forced whimsical animated trailer used to describe their work. You can almost feel the voice-over guy’s soul shriveling a up little inside as he compares search ranking calculations to making a smoothie.)

Domain Authority is, I assume a commonly used metric, as it is apparently able to ignore or bypass any google algorithm bias and give the best prediction of your site’s search rankings, which is a lot better than trying to talk an acquaintance into googling your blog. Of course, I think it would be hard to judge from the number alone, because it’s not clear what the number is relative. Is it calling your site popular compared to, say, someone’s personal geocities page from the mid-nineties? Is it unpopular because it’s lower than Buzzfeed? Moz produces a tonne of other tools such as Page Authority, which ranks specific pages in their google-climbing ability and seems like it could be far more useful to a single website.

I also have to commend Moz for some excellent guides to SEO, speaking as someone who hasn’t have a huge amount to do with it recently (in my current job, I mostly work with Twitter, Facebook and e-newsletter services) it’s good to have a refresher course in this stuff.

Leave a Reply

