Blog Planning Practices

Over the last few months, I’ve had a few issues with this blog. Posts didn’t seem to be coming together well. I feel that the quality has deteriorated greatly – post are shorter – only 200-300 words, lines of thought seem to be scattered and truncated, and I have had less motivation to research the background of a topic. I have lots of ideas, but I struggle to get them ‘into order’ as evidenced by the growing list of blogs in my draft folder; most of them disjointed sentences and bullet points that never pull together well enough for me to want to finish them.

At first I thought it was due to my overall decline in writing output since leaving University earlier this year. Writing is a skill that needs to be practiced like any other, and the only proper practice I had was in this blog, along with short pieces of copy for Willow Wood‘s Fundraising department. To that end, I started another blog on an entirely different topic – Foodie Follows, a food blog that I run jointly with my sister. It’s been great fun to work on and is doing well, but that didn’t seem to cure the writers block of this blog, and I really wanted to continue it.

Eventually I had a revelation – lack of planning and thought processing, which is frustrating because I’ve even sort-of touched on this topic in the past! When I began this blog as a University project, I would discuss every post that I wrote with one of my parents, and by ‘discuss’ I mean ‘ramble on about the subject whilst they probably tried to ignore me.’ That rambling is really what helped me sort out the ideas in my head, as well as find the opposing arguments and possible flaws. In addition, I would frequently plan out my ideas on paper, using mindmaps and other techniques to get all of my ideas together.

So from now on, I’ll be trying to plan out my blog posts properly again. Finding all of the possible ways of approaching a topic is something I need to practice. I feel that simply stating my opinion or experiences on a subject are not enough to do it justice, and  it will force me to work harder on researching a topic.

Leave a Reply

